Is Sausage Gluten-Free: What’s The Standard?

by iupilon
15 views

Is Sausage Gluten-Free?

Gluten-free sausage brands do exist, but not all sausages are gluten-free. Gluten is considered an allergen that cannot be consumed by people who have celiac disease. Keep in mind that placing “gluten-free” is a voluntary decision made by food manufacturers if they want to do so and if the content of their food products meets the US FDA’s specifications.

Gluten-free standards will differ per region, and the specific restrictions will be different from country to country. In the United States, manufacturers are expected to label food items such as sausages only when they satisfy the label’s regulations. Even small quantities of gluten can make celiac sufferers react, so it’s important to use the labeling only when it is 100% accurate and the food is up to national standards.

In recent years, there has been a boom of gluten-free sausages, but for the most part, unless the label is correct, there might be small amounts of gluten in the rusk of the sausages. Depending on a person’s sensitivity to gluten, the rusk may or may not affect the celiac sufferer. However, to be sure, we recommend celiac patients consume only certified gluten-free sausages. Please don’t risk it, as the results may be undesirable.

As for the same brands, the following are labeling some of their sausage packs as gluten-free: Wellshire Farms, Niman Ranch, Beeler’s, Al Fresco, and Applegate Farms. We recommend that you check out the reviews of the sausages you are buying online, so you will know how people react to the food after consumption. We are fairly certain that the sausage brands that have not been truthful with their labeling will receive negative feedback from consumers. Your best guide would be other people who need gluten-free food.

Related Articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this. Accept Read the Privacy Policy

{"cart_token":"","hash":"","cart_data":""}